In 1670, the Deer Park was established as hunting grounds by King Frederik III, but it was as late as 1756 that it was opened for the public. Since then, people have flocked to the Deer Park to enjoy the lovely countryside.
Especially the Deer Park´s population of red deer and fallow deer is fantastic with some of the healthiest and finest specimens in Denmark. One may encounter round 2000 heads of various breeds in the park.
But the Deer Park is so much more than just the wildlife.
With its very fine scenery, the Deer Park provides each year the setting for many different cultural events like the Hermitage Race, the St. Hubertus Hunt, and the open-air theatre in the Ulvedalene every two years.
The idyllic Mølleåen (the Mill Stream) covers 15 to 20 miles (25-30 km) and has its source in Bastrup Lake. From here it flows through three large lakes, Farum Sø, Furesøen, and Lyngby Sø, which leads it to its mouth by the Strandmøllen at Øresund (the water between Denmark and Sweden). On its way, it falls more than 25 yards (30 m) creating the power that earlier made it possible to use the stream for driving a number of water mills. These formed the foundation of the first industries of Denmark, and some of the mills still exist.
The beautiful countryside around the Mølleåen is always worth a visit. The changing seasons give the Mølleåen a varying appearance which alwaysmakes a walking tour worth while.Another way to experience the Mølleåen is totake a canoeride. The rich wildlife and the beautiful surroundings both help make the Mølleåen one of the prettiest places in Denmark. During all seasons Mølleåen is always a pleasant experience.
Mills since the Viking Age
Since the Viking Age, there have been mills along the Mølleåen - the Mill Stream. Since the stream was the major watercourse nearest to Copenhagen, it became a centre for the early Danish industry in the 17th century. Factories driven by the power of the stream were built producing gunpowder, fabric, paper, and iron and copper goods. Lyngby Mølle did take part in some of these industries but for the last two centuries, it has almost only functioned as a grain mill.
The two buildings making up Lyngby Mølle today, were built in 1850 and 1903. The paddle wheel on the elder of the buildings, which today is a museum, is driven by the Mølleåen’s water, and inside the mill the traditional technique with stone grinders is shown. The younger mill is equipped with a turbine and stands on rolls. Though the machines are in use no longer, grain and flour products are still sold from the mill store.
Frederiksdal is named after King Frederik III (“dal” means “valley”). In the 17th century, Frederiksdal Mølle served as a copper and then as a paper mill. However, from 1700 the mill was solely a grain mill, and in 1885 it was slighted in connection with the excavation for the Fæstningskanalen (moat). In return, Frederiksdal has for centuries been a favored picnic site for Copenhageners.
Brede was the mill along the Mølleåen with the highest degree of mechanization. From 1628-1668, it was a gunpowder mill, then a copper mill, and then from 1831-1956 it was a cloth mill. Brede Cloth Mill was the largest of its kind in Denmark, and its huge complex is preserved and listed. Today, it belongs to the National Museum, and it houses stores, restoration work shops, offices, and exhibitions of early Danish industry. A small village of tenements belonged to the mill, but these were demolished c. 1970.
Raadvad is situated in Dyrehaven, the Deer Park (the Royal Danish Deer Park). It is a well-preserved little industrial village with houses from the era between approx. 1760-1920. The factory was originally a powder mill, but from 1759 to 1973 all kinds of iron tools from razor blades to ploughs were produced here. Raadvad is still a brand within the knife and kitchen utensils business, but since 1973 these have been produced in Brønderslev in North Jutland.
The old buildings at Raadvad belong to the Danish Forest and Nature Agency. The factory buildings are let out to various artisan businesses and workshops, and it also houses the Center for the Preservation of Old Buildings.
Like Raadvad, Stampen is situated in the Deer Park. Earlier it was a cloth mill with roots reaching back to a fullery established in the era of King Christian IV about 1620. The cloth mill was dismantled in 1914, after which the remaining buildings were used for the production of acetylene.
This production was stopped in 1971, and the last of the original buildings were removed. Instead the National Museum rebuilt a little wool spinning mill from Rebstrup in Himmerland in Northern Jutland. This was meant to be the beginning of a working industrial museum along the Mølleåen, but until now only the spinning mill has been completed. Here, one may see how the wool is processed into yarn by machines powered by the water of the Mølleåen.
Ørholm is among the oldest industrial mills along the Mølleåen and started out as a powder mill. Between 1793 and 1923, Ørholm was a paper mill, and just like the near-by Nymølle (New Mill) the buildings still remaining were built for the production of paper. With the establishing of the United Paper Manufacturers, Ørholm became a member of this group, exclusively producing wrapping paper. Earlier, however, all sorts of writing and printing paper were manufactured here.
Many old letters and reports found in the Danish National Archives are written on Ørholm paper recognized by the watermark. From 1935 to 1977 the Ørholm factory buildings were used by Lama, which produced spring mattresses. The Lama brand still exists, but now the mattresses are made in Hurup in Thy, in Northern Jutland.
Lyngby Åmose is situated in the northern part of Lyngby Sø. This is a complete landscape in itself. The bog was created by the vegetation growing and spreading into the northern end of the lake, thus marshes and nutritious ponds were formed.
Today, the area is still marsh, but through the last 50 years the tree growth has increased dramatically so that the marsh is covered by the forest. What makes the Lyngby Åmose a special experience is the rich flora, which has made the Åmose a unique and valuable botanical locality. Besides the flora, the marsh also has a unique wildlife.